I Love My New Treasure

It may not be perfect, but I love it.  The picture doesn’t seem to do it justice.  I am excited to find the perfect baskets to put on the bottom shelf.  I still have a lot to learn when it comes to working with wood, but I am up for the challenge.  I have a few more projects lined up for 2011.  Sadly those will have to wait a bit as I have to have priorities, and as you can see in the picture one of those priorities is finishing our floors and putting up the baseboards.  It really isn’t a great time to be finding new hobbies, not when most of our home is under some type of renovation.

When I can sneak in some more playtime this coffee table is next on my “to-build” list.

By the end of the year I hope I can build this kitchen table.  I drool just a bit when I imagine it sitting in my dining room.

What I really love about this whole woodworking thing is that you get to put your own personality into what you build.  After building this bench I think I have a better understanding of my dad and his love for carpentry.  Not a total understanding, but a better idea.  If nothing else this project allowed me to re-connect with my dad. I treasure any thing that gives me that kind of opportunity.

 

 

One response to “I Love My New Treasure

  1. Looks fabulous! I think you found a new hobby. Can’t wait to start myself.

Leave a Reply

